Trials Worthy of Any Jedi, FFG Introduces New Organized Play Formats

Awakenings introduced us all to Star Wars: Destiny, the beginning of our path as mere Padawans (the good kind, not the kind that kills younglings and/or whines about sand; seriously, who wants to sound like that guy?). Our trials in this instance are the new Organized Play Formats that Fantasy Flight Games (FFG) introduced today, merely weeks after announcing Star Wars: Destiny – Rivals, which unveiled the new draft style format. While many enjoy the current format there are those with many questions that leave them either excited or skeptical, such as what are these new formats, why are they needed, how will we keep everything organized? Well my young Padawan learner, let’s dive in!

Why Do We Need New Play Formats?

Now do not start thinking that these new formats are coarse and rough and they get everywhere. These new Star Wars: Destiny formats are regarded as taking the game and creating three versions of it, which have been dubbed Standard, Trilogy, and Infinite. The reasoning for this is quite elegant, there is support for all levels of players, from Padawans to Jedi Masters.

These changes also allow for game designers to better regulate the meta, all of which are contained within the Holocron document, which—in combination with the game’s core rules—will provide all the information you need to construct format-legal decks.

While the formats will have some overlap they are meant to create new play experiences that are meant to challenge players and breathe new and exciting life into the experience that players have. No need for any teachings from Darth Plagueis necessary!

Side Note:

Before we continue, there are a couple of terms that should be covered so that nobody is confused when reading over the new formats.

Rotation – Rotation is a process used to reduce the size and complexity of a game. As newer products are introduced, older products are removed.

Cycle – Consists of a pair of Starter Sets, the accompanying set of Booster Packs, two expansion sets of Booster Packs, and all other products associated with the cycle by the format’s Holocron document.

The below image is an example of a complete cycle.

Star Wars Destiny Organized Play Formats Cycle

The New Organized Play Formats:

Let’s get this party started!

Standard – This will be the format used most in Organized Play events, it will also be the most heavily monitored and governed out of the formats, it will also be used for all Championship-level events. Standard format consists of the two most recent cycles and all products that are part of an unreleased cycle.

When the standard format goes live it will consist of the following:

  • Awakenings Cycle: Kylo Ren Starter SetRey Starter SetAwakenings Booster PacksSpirit of Rebellion Booster Packs, and Empire at War Booster Packs
  • Legacies Cycle: Luke Skywalker Starter SetBoba Fett Starter SetLegacies Booster PacksStar Wars: Destiny Two-Player Game, and Rivals Draft Set

This means that each cycle will be used for 2 years in the Standard format.

Star Wars Destiny Standard Organized Play Format

Trilogy – The Trilogy format is meant to be the most aggressive Organized Play Format as it will be made of the most recent cycle and all products that are part of an unreleased cycle. This format was created to be as welcoming as possible to newer players and casual leagues.

Because Trilogy consists of only the recent cycle and intended to introduce new players to Destiny, FFG is making Trilogy essential to the new Galactic Qualifiers tournament program. With Trilogy and Galactic Qualifiers added to the fold, current players can introduce new players to Star Wars: Destiny and grow their local player base in new and exciting ways!

Here is a little more information about Trilogy straight from FFG.

The Star Wars: Destiny Trilogy Holocron will be updated regularly with all products legal within the format, plus a range of tools to balance the format’s competitive environment.

Infinite – Just like its name implies Infinite is meant to cover all available products in last of the three Organized Play Formats. Even after Standard has phased out Luke Skywalker (AW35) and Rey (AW38), you can still team them up in this play format and find new ways to improve them with cards added in from newer cycles.

Star Wars: Destiny is continually growing and expanding as evident with the new Organized Play Formats and expanding and we as players with it, these are your first steps, as you take the journey from Padawan to Jedi Master. Go forth and may the force be with you, always.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *